Canadian Wins Panama Ironman 70.3

A Canadian, Lionel Sanders, placed first in the Pan American Pro Ironman 70.3 Championship that took place Sunday, January 31 in Panama City. Sanders finished with a time of 3 hours, 38 minutes and 52 seconds, minutes before Antony Costes from France (3:41.53), and Australian Tim Reed (3:44:08).

While Sanders isn’t new to the Ironman 70.3, winning several Ironman 70.3 events in 2015, this was his first time participating in the Panama event. Sanders told the associated press here in Panama that while it was his first trip, he promised he would return. Also, that his victory here in Panama was a dream that had just become a reality.  
Sanders also expressed is love for Panama and the new Cinta Costera via twitter, tweeting “Loving Panama! They section off a 5 mile loop on the highway everyday for 3hrs, exclusively for bikes!”  

This was the fourth time the triathlon took place in Panama, this year bringing over 765 athletes, many who have traveled from one of 35 other countries. The race began early Sunday morning with a 1.2-mile swim in the Pacific Ocean within the banks of the Panama Canal, continuing with a two-loop bike course from the Amador Causeway to the new Avenida de los Poetas, passing by the Casco Viejo over the Cinta Costera. The final part, the run, was a two loop course on the Amador Causeway.

The Ironman 70.3, also known as a Half Ironman, is a part of a series of half distance triathlon races organized by the World Triathlon Corporation (WTC). IRONMAN 70.3 is also world championship qualifying race.

Top 10 womens -final

1 4:08:53, Sarah Haskins

2 4:10:35, Lisa Roberts

3 4:10:41, Heather Lendway

4 4:10:49, Kirsty Jahn

5 4:12:23, Linsey Corbin

6 4:15:03, Lauren Brandon

7 4:15:44, Lauren Goss

8 4:19:21, Beth Gerdes

9 4:22:13,  Liz Lyles

10 4:22:56, Dede Griesbauer

Top 10 mens - final

1 3:38:52 Lionel Sanders

2 3:41:53, Antony Costes

3 3:44:08, Tim Reed

4 3:44:20, Jeff Symonds

5 3:44:53, Oscar Galindez

6 3:45:46, Richie Cunningham

7 3:45:49, Raúl Tejada

8 3:47:41, Matt Hanson

9 3:48:08, Francisco Serrano

10 3:49:00, Bruno Pais