Panama Elected as UN Human Rights Council Member

Yesterday, October 28 2015, Panama was one of 18 members elected to the United Nations Humans Rights Council. This is the first time Panama has been elected to the council, gaining the support of 157 countries.

The newly elected council will serve for three-year term beginning Jan 1 2016. Others elected were Belgium, Burundi, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Switzerland, Togo, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela.

Members of the UN Human Rights Council may serve for a period of three years and are not eligible for re-election after two consecutive terms. Seats are distributed among five groups, African States, 13 seats; Asia-Pacific States, 13 seats; Eastern European States, 6 seats; Latin American and Caribbean States, 8 seats; and Western European and other States, 7 seats.